Carbonara (a healthier version)

DSC00302

There’s always been something about carbonara that’s freaked me out a little. I think it might be the just cooked egg that’s still slightly mushy. Nevertheless, I can understand why people love it; what’s not to love? There’s bacon, pasta and handfuls and handfuls of cheese. Unfortunately, those handfuls and handfuls of cheese come with bucketloads and bucketloads of calories, so even if carbonara was desired at chez Rose it would have been well off the menu.

Until now.

Upon browsing Pinterest I discovered a recipe for a one pot creamy garlic pasta from yupitsvegan.com. I tried the recipe as per their website and, as we were eating it, the ‘this could be a really healthy carbonara’ discussion started. A few tweaks and variations later and we’ve arrived at what I think is a bloody tasty and much less calorific version than the original Italian dish.

I’ve found that this serves 2 biggish portions (with a bit left over for the baby). I’m greedier than the people at yupitsvegan!

Ingredients 
1 teaspoon of coconut oil
2 teaspoons of garlic puree
1 white onion chopped quite finely
2 cups of vegetable stock
1 1/2 cups of almond milk
1 teaspoon salt
8ozs of wholegrain spaghetti
Smoked bacon medallions (or regular smoked bacon and trim the fat off)
250g chestnut or cup mushrooms
1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes
1 teaspoon of oregano
A few twists of black pepper
Chopped fresh basil (for serving)
Parmesan cheese (for serving)

Method

  1. Melt the coconut oil in a big saucepan. Add the garlic and the onion and cook until the garlic is soft and the onion is turning translucent.
  2. Add the vegetable stock, the almond milk, the salt, the red pepper flakes and the oregano. I sometimes do this earlier in the day and let it sit. The flavours infuse into the liquid that way and it’s even tastier!
  3. Add the pasta to the liquid and make sure it all submerges.
  4. Bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer. Leave the lid off the pan. It should take about 20 minutes for the liquid to reduce into a sauce.
  5. Whilst the pasta is cooking, cook the bacon and mushrooms in a frying pan with a little bit of coconut oil. Add these to the liquid when it is almost ready.
  6. Adjust seasoning to taste and serve with the fresh basil and a grating of parmesan.

We’ve also tried this with spinach in with the mushroom and bacon and that was a delicious addition.
If you try it, let me know.

Happy healthy cooking.

Around the Corner Fitness.

 

5 thoughts on “Carbonara (a healthier version)

  1. Jona says:

    Hey there! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I came to give it a look.
    I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting
    this to my followers! Fantastic blog and
    superb design.

    Like

  2. Hannah Woolerton says:

    I have to say, at first I was a little sceptical as yo whether almond milk could really be a substitute for cream and egg. But it works! I loved it. The spaghetti was silly and creamy and tasted delicious. I added spinach for a little green and I think it worked well.
    Thanks Kate!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

