Simple Morning Muesli 


Although this looks like an advert for Holland and Barrett, it most certainly isn’t. I wish the supermarkets sold more of this kind of thing without charging the earth. Every time I want to make a batch of muesli (which is about every 3rd week) it means a trek into town and a good bicep workout carrying it all home! 

I’m aware this ‘recipe’ consists of buying some things and mixing them together, so I don’t think it can really be called a recipe at all. But I thought I’d share it anyway because people who come to stay always comment on how delicious it is and ask for the ‘recipe’ to take home.

In Chez Rose we’ve always had muesli, or some kind of equivalent cereal for breakfast, but I remember reading the label on the side one day and being really surprised by how much salt and sugar there was in it. It is more expensive to make your own, but I’m convinced it’s healthier.

Here’s what goes into mine:

  • Jumbo oats x 2
  • Miller flakes or barley flakes (whichever is cheapest or on offer)
  • Flaked almonds
  • Chopped cranberries
  • Chopped apricots
  • Coconut flakes
  • Sunflower seeds
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Raisins
  • Dried blueberries
  • Brown linseed
  • Chia seeds

I literally put it in a bowl and mix it all together. Absolutely delicious and a really healthy way to start the morning. I have 55g with some almond milk and it keeps me going until about 11am.

If you try it, let me know.

Happy healthy cooking.

Around the Corner Fitness.

5 thoughts on “Simple Morning Muesli 

Leave a Reply

