First Attempt at Falafel

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

DSC00327

I remember the first time I bought a wrap with falafel in. I bought it because I was hungry and there wasn’t anything else. I vividly remember thinking ‘what the hell is this? It’s bound to taste crappy but I’m hungry so it’ll have to do’. I couldn’t have been more wrong. It was absolutely delicious and I’ve liked it ever since.

I’d never tried to make my own falafel before this attempt but M&S falafel (although tasting like heaven on a plate) is a tad too pricey for an every day lunchbox. I found this particular recipe at Just a Taste, a food blog by a stunning Californian lady. I didn’t change too much from the original recipe because it was the first time I’d tried it and I didn’t want to deviate too much incase it went wrong. However, I did use coconut oil instead of the canola oil recommended in the original recipe (mainly because I have coconut oil in the cupboard and don’t have the foggiest idea what canola oil is).

Ingredients
2 cups of white onion (about 1 and a half onions)
5 teaspoons of garlic paste
2 cups of tinned chickpeas
1 cup of fresh parsley
1 cup of fresh coriander
1 teaspoon of salt
1/4 teaspoon mild chili powder
2 teaspoons of cumin
2 teaspoons of baking powder
1/2 cup of plain flour
Coconut oil for sauteing

Method

  1. Add the onion and garlic to a food processor and blitz until finely minced. Remove from the food processor and set aside.
  2. Put the chickpeas, parsley, coriander, salt, chili powder and cumin to the food processor and pulse until they are roughly blended (but not pureed).
  3. Add the onion and garlic mixture back in. Add the baking powder and flour (1/4 cup at a time mixing in-between ) and mix all together.
  4. Put in a bowl and refrigerate for an hour (you can leave it as long as you want, but at least an hour).
  5. If the mixture is still too wet, add a little more flour at this point so you are able to scoop the mixture into balls using an ice-cream scoop and pat down to make a flat disc shape.
  6. Melt the coconut oil in a frying pan on a medium/high heat.
  7. Add the balls to the coconut oil. I found they cook best when cooked for 3 minutes on each side. Fry until browned on both sides.
  8. Set aside to cool on a wire rack and then on a piece of kitchen roll. The kitchen roll will absorb all the extra coconut oil.

I served this up as part of our Moroccan feast for Mr Rose’s birthday. The original recipe has a lovely yoghurt dip to serve it with, but seeing how Mr Rose’s family are allergic to dairy I thought I’d better avoid it if I wanted to stay in the good books. It worked deliciously well with some hummus and guacamole. This one is definitely going on the list for summer work lunches, perhaps with some pitta breads and a bit of the yoghurt dressing drizzled in.

If you try it, let me know.

Happy healthy cooking.

Around the Corner Fitness

2 thoughts on “First Attempt at Falafel

Leave a Reply

