Sweet Coconut & Vanilla Popcorn – Hit or Miss?

DSC00412

I first bought this popcorn on a whim whilst buying food for a Eurovision party in May. I thought it sounded interesting, but pretty disgusting and although I was pretty sure I wasn’t going to like it, I thought that someone in the crowd would lap it up. I couldn’t have been more wrong. Everyone else turned their noses up whilst I, after that first glorious taste, sat in the corner with a protective arm wrapped around the bowl.

I’ve always had a thing for sweets. I mainly go to the cinema just as an excuse to eat pick and mix and I’m really quite surprised that I’m not diabetic already. However, as part of the post January health kick I’ve been really trying to cut down on the amount of refined sugar that I eat. It’s mainly worked and I’ve been surprised and impressed by my determination (read stubbornness), but I’ve missed that sugar kick and tongue fizziness that you just can’t replace with bowl after bowl of strawberries.

Step in the popcorn. I realise it’s a bit of a fad at the moment and popcorn seems to be everywhere as the new healthy snack but I bloody love the stuff. Especially this flavour, which is just the right amount of sweetness with a buttery vanillery aftertaste. At only 121 calories a pack I just can’t say no…but it’s getting to the point where my bank balance needs me to. At approaching £1 a (small) packet I thought the cheap solution would be to make my own version. How hard could it be?

Turns out, very! After three failed attempts I gave up.

Attempt 1:
1 teaspoon of coconut oil and 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract in with the popcorn in the pan. 1 tablespoon of coconut sugar sprinkled on afterwards.

Verdict: Tasted nice, but of nothing. I might as well have been snacking on air.

IMG_0447
Attempt 2:
2 teaspoons of coconut oil, 2 tablespoons of coconut sugar and 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract in with the popcorn.

Verdict: The sugar didn’t melt properly and stuck to the bottom of the pan with the un-popped kernels. I only realised this when it smelt decidedly burny and a dodgy looking grey smoke was wafting around the kitchen. It looked and tasted burnt.

 

IMG_0449

Attempt 3:
On attempt three I decided to take advice from the professionals and had a look on YouTube for coconut sugar popcorn recipes. The first hit was this: a Deliciously Ella cinnamon coconut sugar popcorn recipe. I thought I’d hit the jackpot. Wrong again.

Verdict: The recipe didn’t include much detail, such as the temperature you should put the popcorn at or melt the sauce at. Perhaps it’s my naivety in the popcorn department but I was crying out for the missing instructions. My sauce turned out lumpy (which I thought was quite impressive since I was only melting sugar, cinnamon and oil together) and again it tasted burnt and looked like black tar and popcorn had collided in an unfortunate accident.

 

So sweet coconut and vanilla popcorn is a hit, but only if you buy it from the shop at an over inflated price. The homemade version is definitely a miss!

If you have any suggestions for popcorn recipes that might be more successful I’m all ears.  Please leave your suggestions in the comment boxes below. I need help!
Happy healthy cooking.

Around the Corner Fitness

5 thoughts on “Sweet Coconut & Vanilla Popcorn – Hit or Miss?

  1. aroundthecornerfitness says:

    I used this question as the perfect excuse to go and buy some more today. On the back of the packet the ingredients are listed as: popped corn, rapeseed oil, sugar, rice flour, buttermilk, natural flavourings, salt, coconut milk, Madagascan vanilla extract. It’s so delicious – I’ve just demolished everything I bought today. Going to have to give it another go. Let me know if you’re successful 🙂 x

    Like

Leave a Reply

