Motivation

Quote

I consider myself to be a well motivated person. If I want something enough I damn well try my hardest to achieve it. I’ve always been this way. From banging my head against the toilet wall in frustration because I couldn’t learn my lines for a drama production fast enough to writing endless reams of study notes for GCSE, A-Level, undergrad, postgrad, teacher training and now a personal training course, I’ve always striven for perfection. My goals have always been tangible: study with blinkers on at university and achieve a first-class degree; pass these three QTS tests and you’re accepted on the course; save hard for a number of weeks and be able to afford that handbag you want. The thing about these goals is that they have an end point. I can work hard, up to the end goal, and once that goal is achieved it’s been ticked off the list. I have my degree and can now forget all the information I learnt whilst I was there (to a point); if you put a maths test in front of me right now I wouldn’t have a cat in hell’s chance of passing and I have my new Michael Kors handbag even though my savings have been bled dry. Perhaps I’m not motivated at all, perhaps I’m just stubborn. I know what I want and I work bloody hard to ensure I get it.

However, I don’t have that same motivation stubborness with my diet. This is the current situation:

FullSizeRender

I’ve been thinking about this for a while now and, as I touched on in my first post, I know my issue around dieting and food is that I’ve always seen it as having an end goal. Initially in January my end goal was to look good for my brother’s wedding at the end of August. I still want to do that, but as that deadline approaches I find myself wavering and it’s making me question whether that was really my motivation in the first place. I don’t want to put myself on a ‘diet’ because that makes the teenager inside me want to rebel and binge eat really bad food. Shamefully, that’s what I’ve found myself doing this week. On Tuesday I ate 4 strawberry Cornettos. I don’t think I even really appreciated them – I was too busy shovelling them down my throat to pay attention to what they tasted like.

Getting back into bad habits isn’t an option. I’m 1 stone 7lbs down and I only have another 7lbs to go. That’s the August goal anyway. As of September I’m not really sure what the new goal will be. In order to help increase my motivation I’ve decided to do the following:

  • Read Amanda Freer’s first book ‘Eat. Nourish. Glow.‘ I’ve already started this and I’m finding it to be a really good starting point for talking me through the basics of nutrition.
  • I’m going to get myself a subscription to Women’s Health. I find that by reading healthy magazines, rather than gossipy ones with unrealistic unhealthy images, I can get my head in the right place.
  • Produce a ‘What I eat in a day’ video for an Around The Corner Fitness YouTube channel. I think this is going to have to be a summer holiday project, but I really want to start doing something a tad more adventurous.
  • Start running again. I’ve had around 4 weeks off in total and I’m gagging to get back to it. My first run is going to be Monday 27th June. I’m going to start slow but need to build it up quite quickly because the 10k is only a month away. I’ll let you know how it goes.

I think by breaking the bigger goal of ‘lose weight’ and ‘get healthier’ down into smaller segments it becomes much more achievable. I think this may become a bi-weekly pledge post. Writing goals down and being held accountable to them definitely motivates me!

If you have any recommendations of any books/magazines I should read for motivation please let me know. I’ve heard Jessica Sepel’s book is worth investigating. Any thoughts?

Ironically, just writing this down has increased my motivation. I now regret eating that cake.

 

Happy healthy thinking.

Around the Corner Fitness
@atcfit

 

 

Leave a Reply

