Oat and Raisin Mini Cookies

DSC00416

Who doesn’t love a good biscuit (or two, or three)?

90% of the time at the moment I’m eating well. Fresh, home cooked food and lots of fruit and veg. However, every now and again a biscuit is needed and this is always the recipe I reach for. Everything in moderation! There’s something oh so squidgy about these cookies. They taste just like cookie dough but without the potential salmonella after effects.

My recipe is a Hummingbird Bakery recipe. They are my holy grail of baking and every time I wander to the kitchen for a baking session it’s their book that I reach for. There’ll be plenty more of their recipes on Around the Corner Fitness in the future I’m sure. There’s plenty of versions of this recipe online, so I don’t feel bad about sharing it with you.

DSC00417

Ingredients
270g of unsalted butter (it’s really important that it’s at room temperature. I put mine in the airing cupboard about an hour before I start baking just to make sure it’s really squidgy)
160g caster sugar
160g brown sugar (either light or dark works; I’ve tried both)
2 large eggs
1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract
380g of plain flour
1 teaspoon of salt
1 teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda
1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
110g rolled oats
220g raisins


Method

  1. Beat together the butter and both sugars in a mixer on a low setting.
  2. Add the eggs, one at a time, scraping down the side in-between each addition.
  3. Add the vanilla extract and beat to combine.
  4. Mix the flour, salt, bicarbonate of soda, cinnamon and rolled oats together in a bowl and then add, a little at a time to the mixer. Mix together on a slow setting.
  5. Add the raisins and stir in by hand.

The Hummingbird Bakery recipe book then says to make the mixture into large cookies. I take a different tack because I like mine to be really squishy in the middle. A while ago I read about this technique on Pinterest and now I make the mixture into small golf ball sized balls and flatten them out into a bun tray (so that the mixture comes about halfway up the bun tray). This stops the cookies spreading out too thinly and keeps them really squidgy in the middle.

DSC00420

I then bake them in the oven at 170°c for 10 minutes. This mixture is enough to make 36 mini cookies.

I do make these quite often and they go down very well when I take them into work. I don’t tell work that the only reason I take them in is because if they’re in the cupboard I’ll try to insert them all in my face.

DSC00415

If you try them, let me know.

Happy healthy cooking (and a little ‘naughty’ baking occasionally).

Around the Corner Fitness.

Leave a Reply

