One Pot Mexican Quinoa

You can probably sense a theme going in Chez Rose. I like to make food that you can just shove in a pot and it doesn’t take very long to cook. Turns out that I like tasty food but I’m inherently lazy. I tested out a new recipe this week and it was absolutely delicious. This one originated from Damn Delicious, a food blog from California. It’s the first recipe I’ve tried from Chungah’s website but I’ll definitely be browsing some more to see if they’re all as good as this one. As usual I’ve changed a few things around to suit us better. I’m sure the original recipe would turn out spicer, but I’ve toned it down a bit and have used kidney beans rather than black beans because they were easier for me to get hold of in our weekly shop.

DSC00462

I’d also like to point out that this recipe came from 2014, well before the avocado was officially trendy.

DSC00466

Ingredients
1 tbsp of coconut oil
2 tsp of garlic paste
1 red chilli
1 cup of quinoa
1 cup of vegetable stock
1 can (400g) of kidney beans
1 can (400g) of chopped tomatoes
1 cup of sweetcorn
1 tsp of chilli powder
1/2 teaspoon of cumin
Salt and pepper
1 avocado (chopped into cubes)
1 tbsp of lime juice
Small bunch of fresh coriander


Method

  1. Melt the coconut oil in a pan and add the garlic paste and chopped red chilli. Cook for 1 minute until fragrant.
  2. Rinse the quinoa to get rid of the bitter outer coating.
  3. Add the quinoa, vegetable stock, kidney beans, chopped tomatoes, sweetcorn, chilli powder, cumin and season with salt and pepper. Bring to a boil and then reduce to a simmer and put the lid on.
  4. After about 20 minutes, when the quinoa is cooked, add the avocado, lime juice and coriander. Stir through and serve immediately.

DSC00464

The lime and avocado really make this recipe. It’s bloody delicious and I can see it becoming a staple.

If you try it, let me know.

Happy healthy cooking.

Around the Corner Fitness.

4 thoughts on “One Pot Mexican Quinoa

Leave a Reply

