‘What I Eat in a Day’ – video

Screen Shot 2016-07-13 at 20.52.17

So today I attempted to do my very first ‘What I Eat in a Day’ video in accordance with my motivation post and the challenges I set myself. I’ve been addicted to these videos on YouTube for a while now since I branched out from watching the beauty bloggers. I find they’re really good for motivation and they also give me recipe ideas and ideas for healthy snacks throughout the day. This is how I found Zanna Van Dijk, who I have a little bit of a girl crush on. Why can’t I just look like her?!

However, filming one of my own ‘What I Eat in a Day’ videos proved more tricky than it first appeared. Here are some things I have learned about myself whilst filming and editing:

  • I don’t like the colour of our kitchen. It’s too pink and too garish. We moved into our house from a magnolia coloured flat where we weren’t allowed to decorate and I think I went a bit crazy with the colour when we first moved in. We’re going to change it this summer to a more subdued light blue with grey tiles.
  • I have a much higher pitched voice than I thought I had!
  • Having an oven next to your washing machine makes for not very pretty ‘putting things into the oven’ shots.
  • In order to do the time lapse shots I had to leave the camera in the same place. However, this meant that I couldn’t cook the dinner in the order I would normally cook it. Consequently, although it looked pretty, some of it was a little cold.

The main recipe in the video is Minimalist Baker’s Sweet Potato Budda Bowl, which is one of the favourites and staples in Chez Rose. I’ve written about Dana’s website before and it’s definitely worth a scout round. Lots of our staple recipes come from her website. I’ve left the recipe as I found it; we loved it so much the first time we tried it I’ve never felt the need to make any changes. I do use honey instead of maple syrup for the sauce though because I’m a tight wad (I really do need to invest in some). Go over and watch the video where I give a brief description of what goes in it and what to do.

You can find it here:

Happy healthy cooking.

Around the Corner Fitness

Leave a Reply

