No Excuses Week

Recently I’ve caught myself saying, ‘I can’t be bothered’ several times a week. This isn’t normally like me; I’m quite stubborn and often tell my inner self to just suck it up and get on with it. But I’m tired with the end of term approaching and I’ve had a couple of the Level 3 Personal Training weekends in July which, although are really fun, means that I don’t get a weekend before going back to work on Monday.

To kick out of this negative cycle (because that’s what it is – I’m absolutely fine and there’s no reason that I can’t do the things I ‘can’t be bothered’ to do other than sheer laziness) I’ve challenged myself to do one of the things I ‘can’t be bothered to do’ every day this week. Not long ago I remember one of the fitness bloggers I follow (Zanna Van Dijk) saying ‘you won’t regret going to the gym but you will regret not going to the gym’. This week I’m going to take a leaf out of Zanna’s book and just get on with it!

Here’s how I got on with the challenge:

FullSizeRender


Monday
Today I had to go to the post-office after work to pick up some parcels. Afterwards I had to go for a scheduled run. It was raining on and off all day today and it was pretty windy so I wasn’t sure I wanted to go. My inner voice was giving me the excuse of, ‘you’ve had a tummy bug over the weekend. You just need to put your feet up and watch telly’. Instead of listening to it, I took my ass to the gym and did a 5k run and some resistance machines and free weights for about 50 minutes. Nothing amazing, but it all adds up.

 

Screen Shot 2016-07-13 at 20.52.17

Wednesday
Mr Rose was going out tonight and I had plans with the computer to tackle the ‘What I Eat in a Day’ video that was taking me ages to complete. Editing and sorting everything out has taken me way longer than I thought it would. Even though Mr Rose cancelled his plans, I still forced myself to sit at the computer and get it all done. I’m really proud of the end result considering it’s my first attempt (although I’m aware that I’ll look back on it later and think it was rubbish).

FullSizeRender


Friday

Today baby Rose and I went to Sundown Adventureland (a theme park for under 10s). He loves it there but the food there is rubbish; all chips and chicken nuggets. I usually forget to take a pack-up or just can’t be bothered, but yesterday we went to the shops and I made pack ups for us on Thursday night when he was asleep. That little bit of effort on Thursday meant we enjoyed a much healthier lunch on Friday.

 

Sunday
Mr Rose and I went away for the weekend this weekend. Normally this would involve a lot of excess food. However in this trip we managed to fit in a swim and a gym session at the hotel (although prosecco was consumed as well). I also think that walking around the Metrocentre for a whole day will have counted as extra cardio!

 

Verdict: I enjoyed this week’s experiment. Just being conscious of having those ‘I can’t be bothered’ thoughts has definitely made me more able to fight them. Every time I had one I gave myself a little pep talk and then just got on with whatever needed doing. I think I’d definitely been more motivated and it’s something I’ll be more conscious of from now on.

Happy healthy thinking.

Around the Corner Fitness.

3 thoughts on “No Excuses Week

Leave a Reply

