Treadfast – Hit or Miss?

Treadmills-in-a-gym-008

Last Tuesday I managed to sneakily get hold of a day pass to the local gym. I’ve been popping in to practice the gym workouts for my personal training course, and when I was there a few weeks ago I saw a class called ‘Treadfast’ advertised on the board. Immediately it sparked my interest; I’d never heard of a class based on a treadmill before and I wanted to try it. On the gym’s website it’s advertised as: “Do you get bored easily when you’re running on a treadmill? This class transforms your usual treadmill routine into a fun and engaging group exercise.”

Why yes, I thought. I do get bored when running on a treadmill. I never thought I’d be more of an outdoors runner but I definitely find that the monotony of running on a treadmill, coupled with the fact that you have a clock right in front of you telling you how much you have left to go, rather demotivating.

This class was excellent for breaking that monotony. Headphones in one ear, shouty instructor in the other I was legging it! We did a 5 minute warm up at a steady pace followed by:

  • 3 min at 80% pace
  • 1 min sprint
  • 1 min recovery walk
  • 3 min at 80% pace
  • 1 min sprint
  • 1 min recovery walk
  • 3 min on a 10% incline as fast as you could go
  • 1 min on a 0% incline recovery walk
  • 3 min on a 10% incline as fast as you could go
  • 1 min on a 0% incline recovery walk
  • 30 second 100% sprint
  • 30 second recovery walk
  • 30 second 100% sprint
  • 30 second recovery walk
  • 30 second 100% sprint
  • 30 second recovery walk
  • 30 second 100% sprint
  • 30 second recovery walk
  • 30 second 100% sprint
  • 5 min cool down

I don’t know whether it was because I hadn’t been to the class before, but I really enjoyed that I didn’t know what was coming next. The instructor said they do the same routine for a couple of weeks and then mix it up to keep it fresh and keep you guessing.

I’m really hoping that I can get a good membership deal for over the summer, because this is the PERFECT class for me. I love all the zumba/aerobics type classes, but I can definitely say that this class was the best one I’ve ever been to. I don’t think I’ve ever sweated so much in my entire life!

Treadfast is a hit. If there’s a class on near you, get yourself there!

Happy healthy running.

Around the Corner Fitness.

One thought on “Treadfast – Hit or Miss?

  1. Journey of a Personal Trainer says:

    Sounds like a mix of fartlek and HIIT. Completly agree that’s there nothing more mundane than jogging at a steady pace on a treadmill!

    Like

Leave a comment