Running Podcasts

_78679382_78679380

Now it’s no secret that I love a good playlist when running. I wish I could be one of those people who is content with listening to the sound of the world go by and their heavy breathing. Sadly, I’m not one of those people and I need some serious entertaining on a run to get by.

After a recommendation from Mr Rose I’ve recently branched out into listening to podcasts during running sessions. I started with Serial, which I absolutely LOVED. Series one was all about the possible wrongful conviction of Adnan Syed, a high school student who, in 1999, was convinced for the murder of his ex-girlfriend Hay Min Lee. The podcast guides you through all the different aspects of the case and by the twelfth episode I was convinced that the guy was innocent and furious at the gross miscarriage of justice that happened. I’m actually still following the story and because of the questions the podcast threw up Adnan has been granted a new trial (which I hope Serial will also document).

After being immersed so much in the first series I was looking forward to the second, but this one didn’t live up to expectation. It focused on the story of Bowe Bergdahl, a US military man who abandoned his post and walked off into the desert only to be captured by the Taliban. After nearly five years in captivity Bowe was rescued and season two of Serial focuses on his story after he was charged by the US Miliarty. Even though my interested was piqued after loving ‘Homeland‘, I wasn’t that interested in the military details of the story and found that my runs became that little bit harder because I wasn’t engaged in the narrative.

Then happenstance led me to stumble across a new podcast that I’ve been listening to for the last couple of runs. The Running Commentary is a podcast from comedians Paul Tonkinson and Rob Deering. I’ve started from the beginning and in the bits I’ve been listening to they’ve been gearing up for the London Marathon just gone. I wasn’t expecting much, but I absolutely love how the podcast works. It’s basically just the two of them going for a run with microphones and having a chat on the way round. To me, it feels just like going for a run with a couple of friends. It won’t replace running partner Hannah obviously, but it’s nice to feel like there’s someone there with you as you pootle along.

In the episodes I’ve listened to so far they’ve been dishing out running tips, as well as commentating on what they see as they go by and giving some information about themselves and their running history. I’ve found it really motivating to know that Rob Deering didn’t start running until he was 35 and was overweight beforehand (he’s far more self-deprecating with how he describes it). I’m really looking forward to listening to the rest. It’s exactly what I need: that little bit of extra motivation to get me out the front door.

If you know of any other podcasts that are great, please leave me a comment below. I’ve really enjoyed listening to something other than music. I was thinking I might branch out into an audio book next. Has anyone tried that?

Happy healthy running.

Around the Corner Fitness.

One thought on “Running Podcasts

Leave a Reply

