First Attempt at Pitta Bread

IMG_0828

I had a tiny slither of time yesterday so decided to make pitta bread. It was a poor decision; lots of rushing around was done and a trip to B&Q to get storage boxes was needed whilst the dough was proving. Perhaps choosing to make a bread that I hadn’t made before on a time poor day was a tad ambitious! Nevertheless, they turned out really well and have been super tasty for lunches with a dollop of hummus.

Ironically I sold my bread maker yesterday. I hadn’t used it since we moved (2 years ago now) and there’s no need for a bread maker in the Rose residence anymore since the wonder gadget Thermomix kneeds dough.

IMG_0829

This recipe is taken from the Basic Cookbook that comes with the Thermomix. Mine’s all crinkled and wrinkled since I left it out in the recent downpour. I was browsing the recipes whilst baby Rose was playing on the slide and completely forgot about it. It’s been in the airing cupboard ever since.

Ingredients
1 tsp dried yeast
270g water
1tsp sugar
1 tsp olive oil
500g bread flour
1 tsp salt

Method

  1. Put the yeast, water and sugar into the mixing bowl and warm 30sec/37°c/speed 2
  2. Add olive oil, bread flour and salt and kneed for 3 min/dough mode
  3. Transfer dough into a bowl, cover with cling film and prove for 1 hour or until doubled in size.
  4. Preheat oven to 250°c and put the baking trays in the oven.
  5. Divide dough into 8 pieces, form each into a ball and allow to rest for 15 minutes. With a rolling pin roll each piece into a flat circle (15cm diameter) and allow to rest for a further 15 minutes.
  6. Place 2-4 of the dough circles on the hot baking tray and bake for approximately 4 minutes (or until golden brown).
  7. Take the hot pittas out of the oven when ready, place on a clean surface and cover with a clean tea-towel. This will help them keep puffed up.

IMG_0831

Excuse my poorly shaped circles. I’d like to say I did it on purpose to make them look more rustic and ‘homemade’; in reality it’s because I’m a little bit shit!

IMG_0835

Now, I’m no bread expert but I was fairly chuffed with these. To say my only bread making before this had been a white loaf, I’m chuffed. I remember going round to my boss’ house a few summers ago and she had made her own pitta breads and hummus from scratch. In utter amazement I asked her, “Why the bloody hell would you do that when you could just go to co-op?” After having one of these tasty delights (and being a bit more clean eating educated) I now completely understand why!

IMG_0849.jpg

My pittas even had a pocket!

I think next time I’ll have a go at replacing the white bread flour with wholemeal and perhaps have a go at tweaking the amount of sugar. Nevertheless a successful first attempt and one I’ll repeat again.

Happy healthy baking.

Around the Corner Fitness.

 

2 thoughts on “First Attempt at Pitta Bread

Leave a Reply

