Sweet Potato and Chickpea Coconut Curry

After being stuck in a rut for a while I’ve been making good on my promise to try a few new recipes and branch out a little. I’ve tried a few from the recipe books recently (coming soon), but my favourite of the new ones has to be a sweet potato and chickpea coconut curry. I know I’ve been searching for recipes recently because this one popped up on my Pinterest feed – I didn’t even need to search for it, it just jumped into my lap!

FullSizeRender-3

The original recipe can be found here, a very interesting vegan based website focusing on health and wellbeing through food. As per usual I’ve tweaked and messed with it a little (the original website had parsley?!).

FullSizeRender

Serves two

Ingredients:
1 onion
1 teaspoon of coconut oil
1 teaspoon of garlic paste
1/2 teaspoon of turmeric
1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon of cumin
1/2 teaspoon of coriander leaf
1 teaspoon of ginger paste
1 red chilli
400g of chopped tomatoes
400g can of chickpeas (drained and rinsed)
1 sweet potatoes (chopped into small chunks)
400g of coconut milk
1 bunch of fresh coriander
180g of brown rice
Method

  1. Melt the coconut oil in a large pan and add the onion. Cook for several minutes until softened and then add the garlic, turmeric, cinnamon, cumin, coriander leaf, ginger paste and chilli. Stir and allow to mingle together for 2-3 minutes.
  2. Add the chopped tomatoes, chickpeas, sweet potato and coconut milk to the pan. Bring it to the boil and then reduce to a simmer. It will take approximately 30 minutes to thicken and reduce down.
  3. Whilst the curry is cooking, cook the rice according to the packet instructions.
  4. When the curry has reduced to your taste, add the chopped coriander.
  5. Serve.

FullSizeRender-2

At first tasting, it appears a little bland, but once you’ve had a few spoonfuls it’s delicious. The sweet potato really soaks up all the flavours and spices. Next time I’m going to add a sprinkle more cumin but that’s only because I bloody love it! I can feel it creeping into our weekly rota as I type.

If you try it let me know.

Happy healthy cooking.

Around the Corner Fitness.

Leave a Reply

