Book Review – ‘What I Eat in a Day’ by Niomi Smart

img_1097

 

In a bid to spice things up in the kitchen (recipe variety wise) I’ve found myself buying a few new cookbooks of late. One of which has been ‘Eat Smart’ by Niomi Smart the clean eating, almost-vegan YouTube sensation. I follow Niomi on YouTube and, although not vegan myself, I found myself trying out a couple of the recipes she’s suggested in her videos; her hummus has been a staple in my lunchbox for a good few months now. When she mentioned that she was releasing a cookbook, her video hadn’t finished before I was pre-ordering a copy.

I’ve made a few things from the book now and mostly they’ve gone down very well. In addition to the ones below, the Mexican Chilli Bowl on page 99 deserves a special mention. It’s absolutely delicious with a dollop of sour cream and a few cheeky nachos!


Mauritian Masala with Coconut and Coriander Rice (p.106)

The first time I made this curry I had to strip down to my bra to eat it. Sweat was coming out of all orifices; I followed the recipe to the letter and it was way too hot for a northern girl like me. The second time I made it I was wary and so underdid the spices. By the third time I think I just about got it right. Of course, I’m much lazier than Niomi and opted for garlic paste and ginger paste rather than crushing/grating my own.

img_1325

Ingredients

  • 200g brown rice
  • 1 teaspoon of coconut oil
  • 1 onion (chopped)
  • 2 teaspoons of garlic paste
  • 2 teaspoons of ginger paste
  • 1 tablespoon of mild curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon of turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon of cumin
  • 200g of butternut squash (sweet potato works equally well)
  • 1 tablespoon of fresh thyme leaves
  • 1 small courgette (cut up into pieces)
  • 1 red pepper (cut up into pieces)
  • 2 tablespoons of fresh coriander
  • 2 tablespoons of desiccated coconut

 

Method

  1. Cook rice according to packet instructions.
  2. Heat the coconut oil in a frying pan and add the onion. Let it cook for approx. 5 minutes.
  3. Add the garlic and ginger and stir. Add the spices and stir to coat the onion.
  4. Add the squash and thyme leaves with 1/2 cup of water. Season with salt and pepper and cook for a few minutes.
  5. Add the courgette and pepper with 1 cup of water. Simmer for approx. 20 minutes depending on how thin/thick you want your sauce to be. Cook until squash is tender.
  6. Once the rice is cooked, drain it and mix in the chopped coriander and coconut.
  7. Serve the curry with a sprinkling of fresh coriander on top (if you’re a bit poncy like me!)

img_1323

I’ve found myself having this rice with everything – it’s delicious!
Having got to grips with some of the savoury recipes in the book I headed over to the back to sample the sweet treats. My favourite one so far is the Blueberry & Coconut Flapjack (so much so that the recipe book now opens itself to that page).

Blueberry & Coconut Flapjack (p.220).

I took these into work for a review and they were gone before lunchtime. One of my colleagues even asked for the recipe.

img_1200

Ingredients

  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 300g rolled oats
  • 90g desiccated coconut
  • 150g blueberries
  • 90ml of coconut oil
  • 50g coconut sugar

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180°c. Line a 20cm square baking tin with greaseproof paper.
  2. Mash the bananas with the back of a fork until smooth and set aside.
  3. Mix the oats and coconut in a large bowl and add the blueberries.
  4. Melt the coconut oil in a pan over a low heat, add the coconut sugar and stir until the sugar has dissolved. Stir in the mashed bananas.
  5. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir to combine.
  6. Put the mixture in the baking tin and press down.
  7. Bake in the oven for approx. 30 minutes until golden.
  8. Slice into 12 squares whilst it’s still warm.

 

img_1201

 

Overall I think Niomi’s book was a good investment for me. I bought it from Amazon on pre-order and it cost me £12. I do think that was a tad expensive seeing as I could get it cheaper now in the supermarket, but I have enjoyed the recipes and it’s one that I’ll keep on my bookshelf for a long time.

If you try any of the recipes please let me know.

Have a happy and healthy week.

Around the Corner Fitness.

Leave a Reply

