The Running Thought Process

running-7

Let’s face it, I have a love-hate relationship with running. I love it one month, I hate it the next; I love it one day, I hate it the next; I love it one minute, I hate it the next! I can go out on a run all pumped up and ready to go, and then want to give in and turn around before I’ve even reached the end of the road. Surely I’m not the only one who feels like this? My thought process when on a run goes pretty much like this:

Start: I really need to go for a run. I’ve eaten all that *insert bad food here* today and really need to burn it off.

2 minutes in: I’m pretty much a porkier version of Paula Radcliffe. I really enjoyed the last run I went on. I’m going to get a PB today.

5 minutes in: I feel like I can run for miles. I never want to stop. I love this song. I love running. The world is such a beautiful place. Ooh, look at those pretty flowers.

7 minutes in: I’m bored now.

10 minutes in: I really want to stop. I didn’t really eat that much *insert bad food here* today. Surely 10 minutes of running has burned off at least 600 calories.

15 minutes in: Wow, I’m getting into my groove now. This rhythm feels really good. I’m still on for that PB. I wonder what 5K time you need for the Olympics. These new trainers/leggings/expensive top that I didn’t need were totally worth it.

20 minutes in: Surely it’s nearly ended now. Looks at watch and groans.

25 minutes in: I’m super fit and healthy now. I’ve run for so long I’m practically a size 8 (dreams of all the dresses I’ll look fabulous in and all the people that I’ll bump into). They’ll think ‘wow, she looks beautiful’.

30 minutes in: I’m dying. This was such a bad idea. Is it nearly over? I’m never doing this again.

End: That was totally worth it. When can I go again?
Even though there’s always at least one point on every run when I want to give up and throw my trainers away, I always go out for the next one. There’s just something about getting out and feeling a sense of accomplishment at the end. The aftermath is always worth the pain!
Happy healthy running,

Around the Corner Fitness

2 thoughts on “The Running Thought Process

  1. rubirubimakeup says:

    I totally agree with this post. I don’t run outside. But I do run at the gym. First minute in, yes I can this. Half way through, why am I even doing this to myself. Haha. But I always end up finishing with a happy thought that I did. And I still do it the next day at the gym again. Xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

